91DTK – Grossglockner survey mission

Bad weather today, so no bike. So we hung out together on the farm, played with the animals in the barn and that kind of thing. I did break away with one of the girls to do a survey trip of a ride from the big Bike book I was considering for the next day – Grossglockner!

Strava rated it an ‘HC’ climb. I’ve never seen one, so I thought I’d check it out. Weather tomorrow’s supposed to be crappy, so was also going to see if it’s something I’d attempt in wetter conditions.

http://www.grossglockner.at/en/

Wow. 5000+ feet gain, average 8.7% grade. We were WAY above the tree line, opposite the highest glacier in Europe. Answer, unfortunately = no, not something I can attempt in bad weather. Also, not something I can do on this trip, as it would take the better part of the day. Oh, well. Maybe next time. At least it made for a beautiful drive before the storm rolled in.

Leave a Reply

